top of page
  • Writer's pictureColette

How being diagnosed has changed my life

Updated: Jun 24, 2018

Before being diagnosed I always had stomach aches I would never get to enjoy what we were doing because I always was either in the bathroom or wouldn't participate in what everyone else was doing.


One time we went to Disney World and after every meal I either had to leave early or go to the bathroom because my stomach hurt I never really got to enjoy what we were doing. One time I almost missed out on the ride we were going one.


Another time I had my dance recital and I couldn't go because the fear of getting sick and my stomach hurt.


When my stomach hurt my parents and everyone else around me would become frustrated because I would always be going to the bathroom and my stomach would hurt and we didn't know why my stomach hurt.


I also had anxiety because I did not know why my stomach hurt. I also had anxiety because I always needed to make sure where we went had a bathroom.


I tried numerous things to make my stomach feel better for example eating more fruits and vegetables, drink less milk, don't eat to late, eat smaller meals.


Eventually In 5th grade I went to a gastroenterologist after running blood they found out I had Celiac. To confirm that I had Celiac they had to do a endoscope. It took three tries until we actually got the procedure done. The first time I was sick, the second time they said I was still sick, the third time I actually got it done. Then it was confirmed I had Celiac.


I have been on a gluten free diet for about a year now I feel so much better.I feel like a weight has been lifted off my shoulder because I don't have to worry about if there is a bathroom also I know why my stomach hurts so I don't have to worry about that.


I can participate in everything my family does (unless it involves eating gluten).


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page